After Alabama and Michigan governors threw their hat into the anti-refugee ring, several other governers have followed to declare that they would not be allowing Syrian refugees into their state.

Some politicians like Mike Huckabee and Jeb Bush have suggested that we only allow Christian Syrians into the country, since everyone knows that Christians are always honest and never criminals. Of course, the Republicans have yet to propose a way in which one could truly surmise a Syrian’s Christian-ship. Maybe by turning water into wine?

The only real way that these states could rebel against a few Syrian refugees would be to somehow deny them any sort of state-funded aid. Obama has already shown that he is not at all tolerant of the xenophobia being displayed by many in America. It is time for America to do our part in aiding these refugees.

The list of states who have said they won’t accept Syrian refugees as of this morning:

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Wisconsin












Read more about this story at Salon  “Cowardly governors give ISIS a propaganda victory: Refusing refugees is a moral outrage & a strategic blunder.”

Sydney Robinson is a political writer for the Ring of Fire Network. She has also appeared in political news videos for Ring of Fire. Sydney has a degree in English Literature from the University of West Florida, and has an active interest in politics, social justice, and environmental issues. She would love to hear from you on Twitter @SydneyMkay or via email at